

SENATE

Terms of Reference and Composition 2024/25

Terms of reference

- The Senate is the supreme academic authority of the University responsible for overseeing
 academic quality and standards, and shall, subject to the powers reserved to the Council by the
 Statutes, take such measures and act in such a manner as shall appear to it best calculated to
 promote the academic work of the University both in teaching and research and shall regulate
 and superintend the education of the students of the University.
- 2. Senate has powers defined in the University Statutes article 12(1) 12 (5) (see appendix 1)

Composition

Ex-Officio Members

Vice-Chancellor (Chair)
Deputy Vice Chancellor
Pro-Vice-Chancellors
Deans of Faculties
Academic Registrar/Person with prime managerial responsibility across the University for learning resources

Members

Twenty-five staff representatives (made up of Associate Deans, Professors, Academics and Admin/Technical/ Professional staff members)
Chair of the University Assembly
Two Deputy Chairs of the University Assembly
Three members elected from Professional Services staff
Seven students

In attendance

Chief Finance Officer
Director of People Culture and Wellbeing
University Secretary
Secretary (Governance team)

Frequency of meetings

The Committee should meet no less than four times per academic year.

Quorum

A quorum comprises at least 50% of the members of the Committee (including vacant posts), including the Chair or the Chair's nominee. This shall be rounded up to the nearest whole number. In the absence of a quorum, no formal resolution may be passed, but informal recommendations for decisions may be made to be considered and ratified at a subsequent meeting.

Ex-Officio Members

Professor Shirley Congdon	Vice-Chancellor	N/A
Vacancy	Deputy Vice-Chancellor N/A	
Professor Sherif El-Khamisy	Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research Innovation N/A and Engagement)	
Professor Udy Archibong	Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Equality, Diversity and Inclusion)	N/A
Paul Watson	Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Learning, Teaching and Student Experience)	N/A
Professor Martin Priest	Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Digital Technologies	N/A
Professor Rob James	Dean, Faculty of Life Sciences	N/A
Dr William Martin	Dean, Faculty of Health Studies	N/A
Professor Engobo Emeseh	Interim Dean, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences	
Dr Anne Miller	Interim Academic Registrar	N/A

Members

Professor Felician Campean	ADR&I, Faculty of Engineering and Digital N/A Technologies	
Professor Iqbal Mujtaba	ADLT, Faculty of Engineering and Digital N/A Technologies	
Alison Hartley	ADLT, Faculty of Health Studies	N/A
Professor Marina Bloj	ADR&I, Faculty of Health Studies	N/A
Dr Benjamin Jennings	ADLT, Faculty of Life Sciences	N/A
Professor Anant Paradkar	ADR&I, Faculty of Life Sciences	N/A
Dr Jing Li	ADR&I, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences	N/A
Professor Kerry Papps	ADLT, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences	N/A
Professor Alastair Wood	Professor, Faculty of Engineering and Digital Technologies 2025	
Dr Pete Twigg	Academic, Faculty of Engineering and Digital Technologies	2025

Academic, Faculty of Engineering and Digital Technologies 2025	
Admin/Technical/ Professional staff, Faculty of Engineering and Digital Technologies	2025
Professor, Faculty of Health Studies 2027	
Academic, Faculty of Health Studies 2025	
Academic, Faculty of Health Studies 2027	
Admin/Technical/ Professional staff, Faculty of Health Studies	2025
Professor, Faculty of Life Sciences	2025
Academic, Faculty of Life Sciences	2027
Academic, Faculty of Life Sciences	2026
Admin/Technical/ Professional staff, Faculty of Life Sciences	2025
Professor, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences	2026
Academic, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences	2025
Academic, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences	2025
Admin/Technical/ Professional staff, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences	2025
Academic, Faculty Representative 2025	
Member of Professional Services	2025
Member of Professional Services	2027
Member of Professional Services	2025
Chair of the University Assembly	2025
Deputy Chair of University Assembly	2025
Deputy Chair of University Assembly	2025
Student Representative, UBU Sabbatical 2025 Officer	
Student Representative, UBU Sabbatical 2025 Officer	
Student Representative, UBU Chair of Council (or UBU Sabbatical Officer)	
Student Representative, Faculty of Engineering and Digital Technologies	
	Digital Technologies Admin/Technical/ Professional staff, Faculty of Engineering and Digital Technologies Professor, Faculty of Health Studies Academic, Faculty of Health Studies Academic, Faculty of Health Studies Academic, Faculty of Health Studies Admin/Technical/ Professional staff, Faculty of Health Studies Professor, Faculty of Life Sciences Academic, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences Admin/Technical/ Professional staff, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences Academic, Faculty Representative Member of Professional Services Member of Professional Services Chair of the University Assembly Deputy Chair of University Assembly Student Representative, UBU Sabbatical Officer Student Representative, UBU Chair of Council (or UBU Sabbatical Officer) Student Representative, Faculty of

Vacancy	Student Representative, Faculty of Life Sciences	2025
Vacancy	Student Representative, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences	2025

In attendance

Martin Conway	University Secretary	N/A
Dave Harris	Director of People, Culture and Wellbeing	N/A
Andrew Lang	Chief Finance Officer	N/A
Steve Gilley	Director of Infrastructure	N/A
Professor Saeed Akbar	Interim Dean, School of Management	N/A
Claire Pryke	Associate Director – Outreach, Recruitment and Admissions	

Meeting Details

23 October 2024	Norcroft Auditorium	13:00
29 January 2025	Norcroft Auditorium	13:00
30 April 2025	Norcroft Auditorium	13:00
09 July 2025	Norcroft Auditorium	13:00

Serviced by

 $Katherine\ Wass,\ Governance\ and\ Projects\ Officer,\ email;\ \underline{k.wass@bradford.ac.uk}$